• Create Account

How Can I Reduce My Compile Times?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
21 replies to this topic

#1 hoffman_jwr   Members   -  Reputation: 102

1Likes

Posted 09 January 2011 - 05:18 PM

Hi there,
I am a graduate games programmer with around 6 months industry experience, and this dilemma is something that I often ponder. Up to this point, I have worked on a few projects which have grown to become substantial in size (approx. twenty - thirty thousand lines). Although I have strived for software orthogonality (i.e. modularity), and worked towards decoupling the various aspects of the systems I worked on, inevitably the projects bloat, interdependencies pop up, and compile times become long. I work in predominantly in C; I always ensure forward declarations over header includes, I use pointers wherever possible. Is it possible to modularise to the point where a module is completely free-standing? Would it be possible to place the various components of an engine into dll files (something I have never done)? On large scale projects, is this practice? - or does the solution reside in the one project file (somehow I doubt that)? dll's are windows specific; are there any platform unspecific ways to build linkable object files?

Sponsor:

#2 Steve132   Members   -  Reputation: 433

0Likes

Posted 09 January 2011 - 05:37 PM

Do you mean just creating a static library

#3 obhi   Members   -  Reputation: 180

0Likes

Posted 09 January 2011 - 05:41 PM