Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Chapter 2 and Chapter 3 errors


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 zee_ola05   Members   -  Reputation: 320

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 January 2011 - 09:41 AM

Hello guys. Here's my problem.
When I try to run the source codes provided by JWalsh, I get these error. (PerformanceTest1)
Error	1	Your installation of XNA Game Studio does not support this project (XNA Platform = 'Windows Phone', XNA Framework Version = 'v4.0').	PerformanceTest1 - WinPhone 7

And when I deleted the WinPhone7 version in the solution, I get these,
Error	1	No devices are available to deploy project 'PerformanceTest1 - Xbox360'. Register a device using the XNA Game Studio Device Center.		0	0

After I delete the XBOX360 version, the program runs.

Am I not the only one getting these errors? How do I run the program without deleting WinPhone7 and XBOX360 solution? Thanks!

Sponsor:

#2 JSelf   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 January 2011 - 10:43 AM

Did you install the stand alone XNA 4.0? Or the package with windows mobile 7 tools and emulator?

#3 zee_ola05   Members   -  Reputation: 320

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 January 2011 - 11:18 AM

I don't think I've installed windows mobile 7 tools and emulator.

#4 JSelf   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 January 2011 - 11:32 AM

I think youll need to connect an Xbox360 for the Xbox code to work, and insurance the emulator set for Tue phone app to work.

#5 JWalsh   Moderators   -  Reputation: 462

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 January 2011 - 12:00 PM

I think youll need to connect an Xbox360 for the Xbox code to work, and insurance the emulator set for Tue phone app to work.


Hi All,

If you have the stand-alone version of XNA Game Studio 4.0 without the Windows Phone Developer tools you will be unable to compile the source code using the normal methods as it will give you the message described above. To solve this problem, I will distribute each chapter source code in the future with it's own Solution File.

The same is true if you do not have an Xbox 360 configured to work with your XNA Game Studio. This is because hitting F7 or F5 (Or CTRL+SHIFT+B, depending on your configuration) also attempts to deploy the Xbox 360 code to any connected Xbox 360's. You can get around that by right clicking on the x86 project and clicking "Build". However, as I stated above, I'll make the process simpler in the future by splitting the different platforms up into their own solution files.

Cheers!
Jeromy Walsh
Sr. Tools & Engine Programmer | Software Engineer
Microsoft Windows Phone Team
GameDevelopedia.com - Blog & Tutorials
GDNet Mentoring: XNA Workshop | C# Workshop | C++ Workshop
"The question is not how far, the question is do you possess the constitution, the depth of faith, to go as far as is needed?" - Il Duche, Boondock Saints

#6 Half_Duplex   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 January 2011 - 05:55 PM

I have the same issue because I installed only the 4.0 framework, no XBOX connection and no Windows Phone. The Windows game runs project fine if you just remove the projects in the solution you don't have configured.

#7 zee_ola05   Members   -  Reputation: 320

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 20 January 2011 - 01:29 AM

Thanks JWalsh!

#8 Sammie22   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 January 2011 - 05:28 PM

The XNAPerformanceChecker dll is giving me some problems when I try to run XNAPerfStarter.

error:
An unhandled exception of type 'System.BadImageFormatException' occurred in Microsoft.VisualStudio.HostingProcess.Utilities.dll 

Additional information: Could not load file or assembly 'XNAPerformanceChecker, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format.

Anyone else having this problem?



Update: Right after I posted this, I found a solution. Turns out one project build was set to x86, while the other was set to Any CPU. Setting both to build x86 fixed the issue.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS