• Create Account

[web] 3d game in a web browser

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 perim   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 02 February 2011 - 12:34 AM

Hello GameDev!
I could really use some pointers on a big-picture plan of which languages to learn in order to accomplish what I'm trying to do. Thanks in advance for any help. I really do appreciate it.
By the way - I'm not a beginner, but I'm not that advanced yet either.

My resources: (subjects I have read thick books about, but have yet to do much practice with):
HTML / CSS (HTML & CSS: The Complete Reference, 5th edition)
Javascript (Javascript, the Definitive Guide)
C++ (Ivan Horton's Beginning Visual C++ 2008)
Python (Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner)
I haven't learned PHP / MySQL yet, but I will. As well as anything else I need to learn to accomplish this dream of mine.

My goal:
I want to make a game with a look & feel similar to the "dungeon master clone demo" called "escape from dragon mountain" as shown here - http://www.youtube.c...h?v=Put6IOUUYLI
But I want it to run fully in a web browser. Ideally. However, if that limits me to crappy options, then maybe I'd be willing to settle for it running outside of a web browser in some type of client that people would download from my site, while still keeping their saved character data on my server. This demo (which was never completed) was created by 4 people; so I figure I could make something simpler on my own (even if it were to require a goat sacrifice to the gods of higher education).

My problem:
Figuring out the pieces of the puzzle needed to accomplish this.