Future's scene management

Started by
6 comments, last by Ingenu 13 years, 1 month ago
Hi

I am new to 3d game engine and learned a little about BSP+PVS technique recently. I am wondering is BSP still being using in today's game, like Call of Duty 7?

I think scene management is a key to a game engine. So what kind of scene management , do you think, will prevail in the future?
Advertisement
BSP is quite slow to generate and only good for closed areas. In the future, games will be more dynamic so that waiting a second for the tree to rebuild would be slower than rendering with a dynamic method. Super Mario had cutting edge optimizations that still is considered to be advanced because they didn't have much performance to waste. Today's game developers care less about custom made optimizations and just buy a general purpose occluding method that is good enough.

BSP is quite slow to generate and only good for closed areas. In the future, games will be more dynamic so that waiting a second for the tree to rebuild would be slower than rendering with a dynamic method. Super Mario had cutting edge optimizations that still is considered to be advanced because they didn't have much performance to waste. Today's game developers care less about custom made optimizations and just buy a general purpose occluding method that is good enough.
I think that mobile device and console game programmers still use specific scene optimizations (like BSP), and that larger studios implement their own occlusion code rather than buying a pre-made package.
[font="arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif"]Some introduction for my opinion.
I started putting effort in game development as a Quake 1 mapper. As such, I followed pretty closely the evolution of BSP implementations dealing with Id Tech.[/font]