Tile/Character Art Tutorials

Started by
6 comments, last by Praetor 24 years, 2 months ago
Does anyone here know where I can find a tutorial on methods of making Tile art and/or Character sprites for my games? I''m having a lot of problems with them and could use any tutorials or other how-to''s about it. -Praetor Coder by Trade, Tracker by Instinct, Artist by Failure.
To What End?
Advertisement
If you want to make tiles/textures i would recomend you using photoshop or painter....
Painter ain''t the one if you''re lookin'' for realistic textures/sprites. Sure you can create the sprites in Painter pixel by pixel, but Photoshop will give you 1000 times better tools for "photoquality" art.

BTW. I''m about to open my very own tutorial site according to Photoshop. It''s not workin'' yet, but you can check out some art work by me. Made with Photoshop 4.0.1...of course=)

http://www.ag.fimug.fi/~ilkka_jahnukainen/
First of all, I''m not talking about programs, I use Photoshop 5 and Paint Shop Pro 6, depending on the effects I need. What I''m looking for are techniques for creating 16x16 or 16x32 pixel character sprites or for creating 16x16 tiles for my RPG. I''m shooting for a Final Fantasy 4 sort of feel (FF2 to all you who only know the US version).

If anyone has any input or tips/tricks for making 16x16 characters or tiles, please let me know...

-Praetor

Coder by Trade, Tracker by Instinct, Artist by Failure.
To What End?
Design your character larger than 16x16 but some other equil multiple of 2. Then use photoshop''s Edit/Transform/Scale function to reduce the images size with out pixelation occuring. That''s about all I can give for a tip on creating high res 16x16 characters.
Joseph FernaldSoftware EngineerRed Storm Entertainment.------------------------The opinions expressed are that of the person postingand not that of Red Storm Entertainment.