Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Can't render quads


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 lildragon555   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 20 May 2011 - 03:26 PM

I attempted to create a simple box just placing points...but for some reason they come out as triangles instead of quads...
Any idea?

//Top
	glBegin(GL_QUADS);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -4.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -4.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -4.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -4.0f, -5.0f);

	//Bottom
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -2.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -2.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);

	//Left Side
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -4.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -4.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -2.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);

	//Right Side
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -4.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -4.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -2.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);

	//Front Side
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -4.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -4.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);

	//Back Side
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -4.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -4.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(0.0f, -2.0f, 0.0f);
		glVertex3f(5.0f, -2.0f, 0.0f);
	glEnd();


Sponsor:

#2 bluntman   Members   -  Reputation: 246

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 20 May 2011 - 03:40 PM

All polygons are broken down into triangles before rasterization on the graphics card. So when you switch to wireframe rendering (which I am guessing is how you saw the triangles) you will see the edges of the finally rendered triangles. I believe there is a method to stop these from being rendered by flagging edges on your model for display.

#3 lildragon555   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 20 May 2011 - 03:59 PM

All polygons are broken down into triangles before rasterization on the graphics card. So when you switch to wireframe rendering (which I am guessing is how you saw the triangles) you will see the edges of the finally rendered triangles. I believe there is a method to stop these from being rendered by flagging edges on your model for display.


No it isn't in wireframe mode...it's in fill mode...

#4 Brother Bob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 7781

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 20 May 2011 - 05:14 PM

The vertices of your all your quads are defined in a zig-zag order, like a Z, and not clockwise or counter-clockwise around the quad. The order of your vertices are very important. It should be enough to swap the order of the last two vertices of all quads to at least have the vertices define a proper quad. There may be other problems, such as inconsistent winding order and backface culling, that will break your cube.

#5 lildragon555   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 20 May 2011 - 05:49 PM

The vertices of your all your quads are defined in a zig-zag order, like a Z, and not clockwise or counter-clockwise around the quad. The order of your vertices are very important. It should be enough to swap the order of the last two vertices of all quads to at least have the vertices define a proper quad. There may be other problems, such as inconsistent winding order and backface culling, that will break your cube.


Thanks man...didn't know the vertices had to be in order...




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS