Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Getting started with DirectX


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
-1Likes
Like

Posted 29 May 2011 - 11:45 PM

I am using Visual Studio 2008, windows 7 64-bit.

I downloaded DirectX SDK August 2007 and installed it.
When I tried to build a tutorial program, it said "can not open dx3d10d.lib"
Please help me why this error is coming. The file is present in the required folder of VS.



Sponsor:

#2 ryan20fun   Members   -  Reputation: 1100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 29 May 2011 - 11:54 PM

I am using Visual Studio 2008, windows 7 64-bit.

I downloaded DirectX SDK August 2007 and installed it.
When I tried to build a tutorial program, it said "can not open dx3d10d.lib"
Please help me why this error is coming. The file is present in the required folder of VS.



why are you using a SDK that is 4 Years Old ?
Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.

#3 Kamo16   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:21 AM

I am using Visual Studio 2008, windows 7 64-bit.

I downloaded DirectX SDK August 2007 and installed it.
When I tried to build a tutorial program, it said "can not open dx3d10d.lib"
Please help me why this error is coming. The file is present in the required folder of VS.



You have to set the include path and the library paths for your project, as well as specify additional dependencies in the linker.

To specify the paths, open up VS and start a project (or use an existing sample from the SDK), click on the 'Properties' tab at the top, navigate to 'VC++ directories' and click on the 'Include Directories' row in the window and to the right specify the path to the SDK's include folder. Then click on the 'Library Directories' row and specify the path to the SDK's lib folder.

Once you done that, under the VC++ Directories click on Linker beneath it. In the linker category, navigate to the Input option. Select the 'Additional Dependencies' row and in the field to the right enter the library file names you want to use. For example to use DX10, you would want to probably specify


d3d10.lib
d3dx10d.lib
dxerr.lib
dxguid.lib
dxgi.lib

as dependencies.

Hope that was clear enough, good luck.

#4 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:22 AM


I am using Visual Studio 2008, windows 7 64-bit.

I downloaded DirectX SDK August 2007 and installed it.
When I tried to build a tutorial program, it said "can not open dx3d10d.lib"
Please help me why this error is coming. The file is present in the required folder of VS.



why are you using a SDK that is 4 Years Old ?


This was one of the few torrents which I got. I asked my friend to download.
Please send me the link for some newer version.
Or mail me some torrent (if possible) at
shashwat.delhi@gmail.com.
Is this problem coming because I am using old SDK?
Thank you!

#5 Kamo16   Members   -  Reputation: 102

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:24 AM



I am using Visual Studio 2008, windows 7 64-bit.

I downloaded DirectX SDK August 2007 and installed it.
When I tried to build a tutorial program, it said "can not open dx3d10d.lib"
Please help me why this error is coming. The file is present in the required folder of VS.



why are you using a SDK that is 4 Years Old ?


This was one of the few torrents which I got. I asked my friend to download.
Please send me the link for some newer version.
Or mail me some torrent (if possible) at
shashwat.delhi@gmail.com.
Is this problem coming because I am using old SDK?
Thank you!


http://www.microsoft...02-438a3ba730ba

#6 ryan20fun   Members   -  Reputation: 1100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:41 AM



I am using Visual Studio 2008, windows 7 64-bit.

I downloaded DirectX SDK August 2007 and installed it.
When I tried to build a tutorial program, it said "can not open dx3d10d.lib"
Please help me why this error is coming. The file is present in the required folder of VS.



why are you using a SDK that is 4 Years Old ?


This was one of the few torrents which I got. I asked my friend to download.
Please send me the link for some newer version.
Or mail me some torrent (if possible) at
shashwat.delhi@gmail.com.
Is this problem coming because I am using old SDK?
Thank you!


why was my post -1 ?, its not like asking a question is bad

here is the link to the latest version
Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.

#7 n3Xus   Members   -  Reputation: 720

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 04:09 AM

This was one of the few torrents which I got.




DirectX SDK is FREE Posted Image

#8 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 04:37 AM

You have to set the include path and the library paths for your project, as well as specify additional dependencies in the linker.

To specify the paths, open up VS and start a project (or use an existing sample from the SDK), click on the 'Properties' tab at the top, navigate to 'VC++ directories' and click on the 'Include Directories' row in the window and to the right specify the path to the SDK's include folder. Then click on the 'Library Directories' row and specify the path to the SDK's lib folder.

Once you done that, under the VC++ Directories click on Linker beneath it. In the linker category, navigate to the Input option. Select the 'Additional Dependencies' row and in the field to the right enter the library file names you want to use. For example to use DX10, you would want to probably specify


d3d10.lib
d3dx10d.lib
dxerr.lib
dxguid.lib
dxgi.lib

as dependencies.

Hope that was clear enough, good luck.


Actually, when I tried writing a basic window program, it worked.
The path is already mentioned and dx*.lib are being added to the same path only. (Still, I will confirm)
It would have been this problem, then I think it should have given the error
"can not find dxd310d.lib" instead of "can not open dxd310d.lib". Isn't it?


http://www.microsoft...02-438a3ba730ba


I downloaded this link. But the total size was around 350MB instead of 571MB mentioned there. The setup didn't started.
When I searched on the net, many people were getting the same error.
So, I started searching for the torrents and that is the one which I found the best at that time.

As a beginner in DirectX, I am comfortable with any version. But atleast the program should run.

#9 ryan20fun   Members   -  Reputation: 1100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 May 2011 - 04:41 AM

it should be: d3dx10.lib and d3d10.lib
Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.

#10 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:09 AM

I have set the path for the library.
Now its giving some different error.
Can anyone tell me what is the problem?
I've attached the snapshots.

Attached Thumbnails

  • dx_tut01.jpg
  • dx_tut01_error.jpg


#11 ryan20fun   Members   -  Reputation: 1100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:21 AM

did you create that project or is it a "complete" sample tutorial ?
Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.

#12 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 June 2011 - 10:32 AM

did you create that project or is it a "complete" sample tutorial ?


Complete sample Tutorial.

It was a VS2005 solution. When I opened it.
It was automatically converted to VS2008 format. Can it be the problem?

#13 ryan20fun   Members   -  Reputation: 1100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 June 2011 - 10:34 AM

i dont think that is the problem, can you give the link to the file so i can try it out locally ?
Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.

#14 iedoc   Members   -  Reputation: 1057

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 June 2011 - 11:30 PM

My suggestion is to keep trying to download the latest directx sdk from microsoft. Since its a big file, it might not completely download the first few times you try if you have a slow internet connection or if you're far from their servers.
Braynzar Soft - DirectX Lessons & Game Programming Resources!

#15 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 June 2011 - 12:21 AM

My suggestion is to keep trying to download the latest directx sdk from microsoft. Since its a big file, it might not completely download the first few times you try if you have a slow internet connection or if you're far from their servers.



It was downloaded fully. But when I checked the size. It was just around 300MB.
Not only me, many other people were getting the same problem.
When I tried running the setup, it gave me some error.
Anyways, I'll try it.

#16 Shashwat Rohilla   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 June 2011 - 12:31 AM

Do you think it the problem with the version?
Or I am missing something to run the program?

#17 ryan20fun   Members   -  Reputation: 1100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 June 2011 - 03:17 AM

Do you think it the problem with the version?
Or I am missing something to run the program?


ive got the June2010 version and it is 571MB
Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS