• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

Menu's in XNA

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

#1 Litarded   Members   -  Reputation: 105

0Likes

Posted 20 June 2011 - 10:17 PM

I am a total noob in XNA. I mean, I know some stuff, but am a total noob.

I am having troubles with making a menu in XNA like Play, Credits, Exit.

I want it so you can click the Play, Credits, Exit and have the credits show, and then for play make it so that the menu "hides or disappears" and then the playing screen shows.

Thanks

Sponsor:

#2 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 16412

0Likes

Posted 20 June 2011 - 10:49 PM

Moving to For Beginners.

#3 Haps   Members   -  Reputation: 1315

0Likes

Posted 20 June 2011 - 11:22 PM

There's a couple tutorials in the Education Catalog you might start with.

Game State Management Sample

Network Game State Management

#4 falcon93   Members   -  Reputation: 121

1Likes

Posted 21 June 2011 - 02:46 AM

This is actually pretty easy to do if you are familiar with object-orientated programming.

First of all, you want to be able to hide/show your menu (collection of buttons), and it would also be good to have a place to check button clicks. Therefore, it can be a good idea to do a MainMenu class. In your main menu class, you can do like this to get ability to show/hide your menu:

public void Update()
{
	if (visible)
	{
		button_play.Update();
		button_credits.Update();
		button_quit.Update();
	}
}

public void Draw()
{
	if (visible)
	{