• Create Account

Is Photorealism a bad aproach?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 NEXUSKill   Members   -  Reputation: 458

0Likes

Posted 21 July 2011 - 12:18 PM

Ok, I'm no artist, but I started to get this weird feeling so I started asking around and almost every gamedev and gamer I know agrees...

That this image:

http://www.niubie.com/up/2008/01/imp.gif

Is far more memorable than this one:

http://i308.photobucket.com/albums/kk353/kratos-niko/Doom3_imp.jpg

Are we as an industry making a terrible mistake putting so much emphasis in Photorealistic graphics?

Game making is godlike

LinkedIn profile: http://ar.linkedin.com/pub/andres-ricardo-chamarra/2a/28a/272

Sponsor:

#2 Nanoha   Members   -  Reputation: 300

0Likes

Posted 21 July 2011 - 12:49 PM

More memorable perhaps, is memorable what your after though? Photorealism help with immersion, I guess it really depends on the game - both have their place.

#3 kunos   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2207

0Likes

Posted 21 July 2011 - 12:55 PM

you simply dont get it. at the time doom was in the making they couldnt do anything more photorealistic of that.. it is not that they had a choice between the two and they decided: "oh, lets go for the big pixel guy because it will be more memorable" Posted Image That was simply as photorealistic as possible at the time... nothing has really changed, only hardware.
Try to come up with a game with pixel billboard instead of normalmapped enemies and we'll see how many people will remember your game.
Stefano Casillo
Lead Programmer
TWITTER: @KunosStefano
AssettoCorsa - netKar PRO - Kunos Simulazioni

#4 NEXUSKill   Members   -  Reputation: 458

0Likes

Posted 21 July 2011 - 12:56 PM