Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Cut down on memory usage


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
24 replies to this topic

#21 chiro8x   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 August 2011 - 06:22 AM

Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002)
System Model: Toshiba Satellite Pro L300
Processor: Intel Celeron CPU - 550 @ 2.00GHz
Memory: 1014MB
DirectX: 11

With this computer you can't do a great thing >_<. I think you need a better computer first :). Latest game egnine need more than that :(.

Sponsor:

#22 0Circle0   Members   -  Reputation: 342

Like
-5Likes
Like

Posted 22 August 2011 - 09:33 AM

The 2D game more than likely will not use 1GB obviously, that isn't the issue. What is the issue is that Windows Vista alone uses that 1GB, the whole thing and then some. Leaving nothing left for anything else. Apparently you do not know how a computer works and how memory is allocated. GHZ is not a rate on how fast a PC is. A Pentium 4 overclocked to 5GHZ cannot beat my N260 at 1.6GHZ. Just because his processor says 2GHZ means nothing, it doesn't mean it can do much more then run the OS and Browser(the laptop is a budget laptop as well from 2006-2007). Windows Vista ALONE is using all the systems resources and anything run after the fact is using, assuming any is even available, virtual memory. Which is based off ram installed, so 1GB in this case which is stored on the HDD, 5400 RPM and a generous 33MB/s(probably a lot lower) HDD from late 2006-early 2007. Then it is read off that drive with an access time of over 15ms (easily higher given the drives age). Take into account that the Video(integrated) on that system is using 256MB of ram leaving 768MB ram for the OS and a 1GB of virtual memory, and the system OS (Vista) requires 1GB(Minimum usually double that) alone, the OS is already loading itself into virtual memory, making everything from then on out to load from a slow HDD.

By the way: N260 is a processor and when you said you didn't even know what dual core was, I face palmed. You probably should rethink talking about speeds of a computer and what it can and cannot do with a computer tech when you apparently do not know how one works to begin with. Take yourself over to a computer forum or read wiki. I recommend ExtremeOverclocking(EOCF or anything alike) a place I have been posting my computers that I have built since before that laptop even hit mainstream.

Keep down rating my comments :)

Circular logic, now that is funny. Here is an example of what actual circular logic looks like.
You don't know what you're talking about because you don't know what you're talking about.

This isn't even about the OP any more, but rather an inability for someone to grasp simple concepts about what a computer can and cannot do. I am done here, no reason to teach an old dog new tricks when the tricks are too difficult for the dog they are being taught to.

Sprite Creator 3 VX & XP

WARNING: I edit my posts constantly.


#23 rip-off   Moderators   -  Reputation: 7651

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 August 2011 - 09:44 AM

when you said you didn't even know what dual core was...

You misread, I never said I did not know what a dual core processor was.

I did a basic Google for N260 processor, and didn't find any specs forthcoming. I was just using the fact that it was a dual core processor to make a ball-park assumption of its approximate clock rate. Any consumer dual core processor I've heard of has been near or over 1GHz, hence my assumption.

That said, I don't keep current with hardware 100% of the time, unless I'm in the market for a new computer.

GHZ is not a rate on how fast a PC is

It gives an approximate level, appropriate to the kind of granularity required for this.

Keep down rating my comments

Happy to oblige!

 

You're dragging the conversation away from the topic. The topic is whether the OP can do anything to fix his code to make it run on the stated hardware. I believe there are lots of things that can be done, an outline of which is enumerated in my first response.

Your response seems to imply "the computer is old, give up". You've retracted from that somewhat in later posts, but this is the core message you're giving across that I'm trying to debunk.

Your off topic rant about overclocking and computer specifications is distracting. I'm not particularly interested in continuing this debate. This will be my last post on this point.

#24 0Circle0   Members   -  Reputation: 342

Like
-5Likes
Like

Posted 22 August 2011 - 10:09 AM


GHZ is not a rate on how fast a PC is

It gives an approximate level, appropriate to the kind of granularity required for this.

This statement is so wrong it isn't even funny.


Keep down rating my comments

Happy to oblige!

Obvious abuse of power. Good job.

Sprite Creator 3 VX & XP

WARNING: I edit my posts constantly.


#25 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 14281

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 August 2011 - 01:44 PM

Circle, your argument has nothing to do with the thread, and doesn't belong here. You're also being needlessly combative and dismissive, which needs to stop.

If you're going to disagree with people, at least provide some facts to back up your claims. This "nuh uh, you're wrong" business is not welcome here.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS