• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

calculating normal

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 marcus12   Members   -  Reputation: 252

0Likes

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:01 AM

Hi,
I am a beginner in opengl and maths.

I want to find the normal of the plane drawn :

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
           glVertex2f(700.0f, 500.0f);
           glVertex2f(720.0f, 500.0f);
           glVertex2f(720.0f, 300.0f);
           glVertex2f(700.0f, 300.0f);
       glEnd();

I am trying to find collision detection using ray cast.

All suggestions are welcome.

Sponsor:

#2 Brother Bob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 8430

0Likes

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:17 AM

Your quad is exclusively in the XY-plane, so the normal vector is the Z-axis; either (0,0,1) or (0,0,-1) depending on what you consider to be the front of it.

In general though, the normal can be calculated from the cross product of two non-linearly dependent vectors on your face. You can, for example, take two edges (the vector between two pairs of vertices), and calculate the normal as the cross product of the two vectors.

#3 mrchrismnh   Members   -  Reputation: 82

1Likes

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:26 AM