• Create Account

Creating a 2D engine from scratch...

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 Riyoha   Members   -  Reputation: 102

0Likes

Posted 28 August 2011 - 06:26 PM

I'm currently studying a Game Development course, but I wanna try some stuff on my own....I still haven't got to 3D yet, so I was thinking, why not try making a simple 2D game

Thing is, I know (at least I'd say) enough C++ to get it done, but I don't know where to start....

C++ I know is all the basics (variables, classes, functions, memory management, new, delete, pointers, virtual etc.), but taking what I know and turning that into a game.....s'kinda daunting, I mean, I've programmed a little to practice the stuff, but it hasn't been "complete" things, more, sections of things....as part of the course, I have seen a little of a 2D engine, but I want to make my own (more for the experience than anything)

I know more or less what sort of game I want to make....it'll be single player for now (although I would like to add an online multiplayer component at some point, not MMO, just two/three other players in a game....if it's not super difficult/pointless, maybe a basic lobby with chat).....it'll be kinda like Monster Hunter for those who know it, only much, much simpler (at least to start ^_^) and 2D.....I'd like to make it so adding stuff in is relatively easy (eg, if I want to add a new enemy I don't want to have to remake the game from the ground up)

Mainly, what I'm wondering is....where to start? (any good tutorials are welcome too ^^_)

Sponsor:

#2 ViperG   Members   -  Reputation: 206

1Likes

Posted 28 August 2011 - 07:14 PM