Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.


Return codes


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 Aprosenf   Members   -  Reputation: 372

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 22 September 2001 - 09:04 AM

I''m new to OpenGL, and I don''t know if it''s a problem, but when I call wglCreateContext(hdc); it''s returning 0. According to NeHe''s tutorial, this is the error code, and his sample code reported an error when it returned this. In my code, however, it''s returning 0, but if I don''t do anything about it, everything else functions perfectly. So, the question I have, is 0 really the success code, or is something bad happening that I should be aware of? I tried e-mailing NeHe, but he didn''t respond. Thanks in advance.

Sponsor:

#2 illuzion   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 September 2001 - 01:17 AM

0 normally means it returned fine (I don''t know about this specific function tho). If it works, then... don''t worry, be happy


#3 Aprosenf   Members   -  Reputation: 372

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 September 2001 - 05:09 AM

No, I looked it up and it says that 0 means it failed. I''ve made a few changes to my code, but now it still crashes when it''s deleting the rendering context upon exit. Also, after I hit Ctrl+Alt+Delete to close the program, the mouse stops responding, and I have to use the keyboard to change the screen width and height (which for some reason were not changed back during program shutdown), and then restart Windows. I''m really stumped here, so if somebody could take a look at my code I''d would be extremely grateful. You can find it at
http://www.angelfire.com/ma3/aprosenf/downloads.html
and download the OpenGL code.

#4 Aprosenf   Members   -  Reputation: 372

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 25 September 2001 - 08:56 AM

Anybody?

#5 Grudzio   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 25 September 2001 - 12:13 PM

I managed to compile your code, and it looks that your OpenGL stuff is Ok. On exit it switches back to my default 640x480 mode and log file says everything worked fine. But I dont have DX8 sdk, so I commented out all your DX stuff. To exit app, I used following code (in WindowProc):
case WM_KEYDOWN:
switch (wparam)
{
case VK_ESCAPE:
PostQuitMessage(0);
break;
}
break;

So, something is wrong with Game_Shutdown function or your DX input wrapper.
Hope I helped you somehow.

K.

#6 Aprosenf   Members   -  Reputation: 372

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 September 2001 - 02:12 PM

Unfortuanately, it has nothing to do with my DInputWrapper class. I tried what you did, and it still does the same thing. In log.txt, for me anyways, during shutdown, it says

SHUTTING DOWN OpenGL
Deleting the rendering context...

and then abrubtly stops there, meaning something is going wrong. I appreciate you trying, though.

#7 Null and Void   Moderators   -  Reputation: 1087

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 September 2001 - 02:49 PM

Not nescessarily. Flush the output to the file after each time your write to it, since anything floating in memory when it crashes won''t get written.

[Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!]

#8 Aprosenf   Members   -  Reputation: 372

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 September 2001 - 01:54 AM

I do. I call fflush right after fprintf.


int Write_Error(char *string, ...)
{
char buffer[80];

va_list arglist;

if((string == NULL) || (fp_error == NULL))
return 0;

va_start(arglist, string);
vsprintf(buffer, string, arglist);
va_end(arglist);

fprintf(fp_error, buffer);
fflush(fp_error);

return 1;
}


#9 Aprosenf   Members   -  Reputation: 372

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 September 2001 - 07:28 AM

I''ve narrowed down the problem - for some odd reason, it''s crashing during my shutdown routine when I call

ChangeDisplaySettings(NULL, 0);

It executes every line of code before that, but doesn''t execute a single line of code afterwards, not even a message box or writing to log.txt. Anyone have any ideas?

#10 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 27 September 2001 - 10:30 AM

That is really strange. Have you tried to run your app in window mode? Also, if you want, send me your exe file. I will check if it crushes my machine.

K.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS