Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!


1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!


Odd texture filtering issue


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Blips   Members   -  Reputation: 125

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 24 September 2011 - 01:00 PM

I'm approaching completion on my first OpenGL ES game (yay!) but just recently ran into an odd issue with texture filtering. I was trying to improve the game's performance when linear filtering suddenly broke. Code when creating textures was this:

glGenTextures(1, &textureID);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, textureID);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE); 
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);  
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGBA, width, height, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, data);

But now, I'm having to set the texture parameters when binding textures and rendering geometry. Is this normal and was it just a fluke that it was working before?

Sponsor:

#2 dpadam450   Members   -  Reputation: 1273

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 24 September 2011 - 05:51 PM

You only need to set it once for each texture.

#3 Blips   Members   -  Reputation: 125

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 September 2011 - 12:40 AM

You only need to set it once for each texture.


So why is it not working unless I re-set it during rendering?

#4 L. Spiro   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 20072

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 September 2011 - 01:49 AM

Unbind the texture after you are done creating it to make sure you are not accidentally changing its properties later.

glBindTexture( GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0 );


L. Spiro

#5 Blips   Members   -  Reputation: 125

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 September 2011 - 12:20 PM

Unbind the texture after you are done creating it to make sure you are not accidentally changing its properties later.

glBindTexture( GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0 );

L. Spiro


Sorry, I forgot to include that line. I already was / am doing that.

#6 L. Spiro   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 20072

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 September 2011 - 07:26 PM

Search your project for GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER and check every location where you are calling that.

After you have set the GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER property on your texture, you do not need to change it. Therefore you need to focus your search on where you are re-binding that texture (unintentionally) and changing its GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER.
Check every location where you use GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, and be sure of exactly which texture is bound. It may not be the one you think.


L. Spiro




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS