• Create Account

Player move while jumping

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 Ozelo   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 19 October 2011 - 07:24 AM

I would like to start a thread here on the subject above.

I'm a beginner at all, but I thought I should discuss it on game programming, as I am talking about concept here.

I'm coding a player move supposed to be realistic, but when I did a fast research on actual "realistic" games seems no one do it really realistic. Then I started to think that it is coded that way on purpose to not ruin gameplay experience based on "how realistic it will behave". Isn't that true?

Consider the following:

Case 1: First tap jump, then press to move any direction. The player will move while in the air. (Not so realistic, but handy in gameplay);

Case 2: First tap jump, then press to move any direction. The player DO NOT move until its foots touch again a required material to apply a force of some kind, then, finally moves in response to that force. (Realistic, but well, that's just dandy, isn't?);

What you think about it? Pls, post your thoughts.

Sponsor:

#2 Wooh   Members   -  Reputation: 532

0Likes

Posted 19 October 2011 - 08:53 AM

Case 1 is good for platform games. Often you can also affect the hight of the jump while in the air. In these games jumping is very important for the gameplay. With realistic jumping it would be much harder and boring. Platform games are usually not very realistic anyway.

Case 2 is better for more realistic types of games like first person shooters.

#3 Dawoodoz   Members   -  Reputation: 290

0Likes

Posted 19 October 2011 - 09:02 AM

The human physics is usually a capsule with a velocity offset in the friction to move using friction instead of working against it with a jet engine.