network examples?

Started by
11 comments, last by barazor 22 years, 6 months ago
ok let me start by saying that im not new to network programming, i have a few years of socket experience under my belt, just not with games, and ive been picking through some quakeforge source code, which is pretty confusing stuff what i am sorta looking for is some sample code that interprets movement for a player onscreen, and how it is used.... now, what i need is some input on how to send this info to the server. Right now, i have my code send a message(sort of an example): <movement msg id> <player id> <x coords> <y coords> <z coords> <pitch> <yaw>.... is this an efficient way to do this? or should i do it differently? id appreciate some input on my idea Edited by - barazor on September 25, 2001 10:47:30 PM
Advertisement
What I tend to do and what I believe a lot of games do, such as Quake and Serious Sam, is to use "Virtual Actions" that is to send action instructions from the client to the server. In effect remote controlling the character. For example, in the simplest form you could send key states, key-up = run forward, key-down = run back. You could send actions such as stand, crawl, run... This will reduce the traffic on the network.

You then have to decide how the information will be reflected back between the server and the client. Until now I have just been sending absolute sync data in-frequently with some deltas in between (I didn''t have much choice about this approach and its not one I particuarly like).

But I believe that a more common and probably better approach is for the server to send back an action acknowldgement. Telling the client that there action has been acknowldged and accepted as valid.

I hope this will help a bit.

Perhaps someone with more experience can list the alternative methods along with the pros-n-cons.