What heuristic should i use for A* ?

Started by
9 comments, last by thatguyfromthething 12 years, 5 months ago
I`m working on some basic pathfinding in 3D space. I`m able to create a navigation graph, using a flood-fill algorithm. I start in one point, and extend it in 4 directions, if there are no colliders in that particular direction. It`s pretty nice until now. Works ok. Creates a nice grid, without the inaccessible nodes or edges. But there`s one more thing i have to do in order to make enemies / NPCs come to the player or go to a certain place.

Use A* to find the shortest path from a node closest to the enemy to a node closest to the target.

I studied A* 1-2 years ago in college, gotta read a bit more about it though, to refresh my memory. But still, which heuristic is the most suitable here?
Is it ok if i use the straight distance between 2 points? And the cost being the number of graph edges traveled until the current position? (since each edge has the same length.)

And is there anything else i should need to know about this? Im gonna look into it today, but a direction, for a head start, would be really, really nice.
Advertisement
Yeah... in a grid world, you are pretty well off just using the straight line distance. Also, if you can't move diagonally, you can use the Manhattan distance which is simply delta x + delta y. As long as your heuristic is no greater than the absolute minimum number of moves, you're good.

Dave Mark - President and Lead Designer of Intrinsic Algorithm LLC
Professional consultant on game AI, mathematical modeling, simulation modeling
Co-founder and 10 year advisor of the GDC AI Summit
Author of the book, Behavioral Mathematics for Game AI
Blogs I write:
IA News - What's happening at IA | IA on AI - AI news and notes | Post-Play'em - Observations on AI of games I play

"Reducing the world to mathematical equations!"