• Create Account

Graphics engines and middleware.

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Simon_Roth   Members   -  Reputation: 149

0Likes

Posted 08 November 2011 - 01:04 PM

Hi

I'm currently studying the state of graphics engines and middleware to decide on the direction for a major indie title I will be working on. The current engine of the studio is a well known, stable, commercial engine, but has been left behind in the DirectX 8-9 era and would need to be significantly rewritten to hit the requirements of our new project. We are looking at things like many dynamic moving light sources (so probably differed lighting), soft shadowed point lights, large amounts of reflections and a heavy emphasis on costly post effects such as motion vector driven blur.

Currently I am thinking of just writing my own renderer from scratch. This doesn't phase me, and due to the very specific brief of the project, I can literally build what I need.

That said, it would be foolish not to consider every other option. What rendering engines do people recommend?

I've looked at Ogre and it seems promising, however I havnt seen it proven commercially. I'd worry that integration would also be a pain in the ass, since we'd need to mash it in with the current engine.

Any pointers would be great. I'm considering anything from small open source solutions (preferably MIT license or similar since releasing source can raise problems) to larger commercial systems, such as Englighten(standalone). Platforms are PC, Ipad and perhaps consoles depending on platform holder whims.

Cheers

-Simon

Sponsor:

#2 PolyVox   Members   -  Reputation: 708

1Likes

Posted 08 November 2011 - 05:24 PM