• Create Account

Class Template Error

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 lordimmortal2   Members   -  Reputation: 129

0Likes

Posted 09 November 2011 - 09:06 PM

I just tried to replace some classes and functions with templates to reduce some code substantially and seeing as how it's my first time using templates and inheritance, there's some confusing errors. I'm using C++.

I've worked it into getting errors such as this:
error C2440: '=' : cannot convert from 'cLinkedList<T> *const ' to 'cEntity *'
1>      	with
1>      	[
1>          	T=cEntity
1>      	]
1>      	Cast from base to derived requires dynamic_cast or static_cast
1>      	c:\users\owner\documents\visual studio 2010\projects\rpg\rpg\clinkedlist.cpp(9) : while compiling class template member function 'int cLinkedList<T>::FindEmptyID(void)'
1>      	with
1>      	[
1>          	T=cEntity
1>      	]

And I'm quite confused about how to fix this.

Relevant code:

cLinkedList.h:
#pragma once

template <class T>
class cLinkedList
{
public:
	T *next;

int FindEmptyID();

T * ScanListPrevious(int ID);
	T * ScanList(int ID);
	T * ScanListEnd();				// Returns the last entity in the list
};

cLinkedList.cpp:
#include "cLinkedList.h"

#include "cTile.h"
#include "cEntity.h"

template <class T>
int cLinkedList <T>::FindEmptyID()
{
	T *dummy, *dummyNext;

if(this != 0)
	{
		dummy = this;

while(true)
		{
			dummyNext = dummy->next;

if(dummyNext == 0)
			{
				// Impossible to dicern the next ID, assume that the final one in the list is the last ID
				return dummy->ID + 1;
			}
			if(dummyNext->ID - dummy->ID > 1)
				// This checks if there is a break between ID numbers and returns ID + 1 which fills the hole
				return dummy->ID + 1;

dummy = dummy->next;
		}
	}
	else
	{
		// Error, no root
	}
}