Critique My Resume

Started by
4 comments, last by frob 12 years, 5 months ago
After reading through the responses to JonConley's resume, I figured it would be a good idea to post mine as well. I am a freshman at Purdue, and I plan on searching for an internship at a game studio soon.

When do you guys think I should start sending my resume and portfolio? Also, what should I include in my portfolio? I assume I would just include excerpts from my code along with visual representations of the results. Finally, do you guys have any tips for searching for an internship? I figured it would be a good idea to start looking early on in college.

Thanks!
Scott Wilkewitz

[Resume taken down.]
Advertisement

1. After reading through the responses to JonConley's resume, I figured it would be a good idea to post mine as well.
2. I am a freshman at Purdue, and I plan on searching for an internship at a game studio soon.
3. When do you guys think I should start sending my resume and portfolio?
4. Also, what should I include in my portfolio? I assume I would just include excerpts from my code along with visual representations of the results.
5. Finally, do you guys have any tips for searching for an internship?
6. I figured it would be a good idea to start looking early on in college.

1. Sure. Where is it?
2. You might be a little early in your schooling, but you can always try for it.
3. When should you start looking for a job? As soon as you want. They are looking for qualified applicants, and if your resume and other information look good enough a company will consider you.
4. Include quality work that shows (1) you can do the job well, and (2) you will fit in. Part of that includes showing drive and passion for quality and for making games. Generally it is best to not include student projects where you were learning because by their nature they show you didn't understand the concepts. However, as an intern, a certain amount of that is certainly fine.