• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Absolute Beginner

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
20 replies to this topic

#1 CodeFree   Members   -  Reputation: 101

0Likes

Posted 13 December 2011 - 08:52 AM

How's it going guys, i'm new here, however i've been reading things on this forum for a while.

So, i've always been eying game programming & development, however I never knew where to start, really. I was reading a few threads on here, but the questions asked and answered aren't really what i'm needing.

To start it off: What's the best language to learn? (I've only really learned HTML, and that's good for nothing)
Are there any pre-requisites to learning this? (If not; are there any recommended?)
How long does it usually take for the average guy to pick this language up?
What's the best books for this language/pre requisite?
How exactly does the programming work with game development? (Nooby question, I know)
Let's say i'm a game programming master( [; ) Where would I go from there?
Can you create software with the language you learn for developing games?
I appreciate any answers or feedback, thank you [:

Sponsor:

#2 Zorerk   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 13 December 2011 - 09:17 AM

What's the best language to learn? (I've only really learned HTML, and that's good for nothing)