• Create Account

What do programmers want/What motivates programmers?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
22 replies to this topic

#1 Questioner1   Members   -  Reputation: 103

2Likes

Posted 15 December 2011 - 04:48 PM

Hello programmers,

I'm a game designer. I am passionate about designing great gameplay, and bringing together art and technology to form my game design into a great experience.
I've learned myself to program, because it empowers me as a designer, and so that I know the problems that programmers face better.
Now I do have a pretty good picture of what kinds of problems programmers face, but I realised that I really don't quite understand something, that might be even more important than what challenges programmers face, namely what it is about programming that gets programmers excited.
So what is it that programmers really want when making a game? What keeps them going, what makes them enthusiastic?
I'm genuinely trying to understand my fellow game developer a bit better.

Thank you.

Sponsor:

#2 freeworld   Members   -  Reputation: 325

0Likes

Posted 15 December 2011 - 05:12 PM

Ever since my first set of lincon logs, I love to create things. Sometimes i think people with ADD would make great programmers, designers. As the the urge to constantly come up with something new, is a great thing. Though being able to finish something is also important.

The biggest excitement... or what ever you want to call it... for me, is after I've spent 24 hours working on something, I apply my assets, and run the app. The moment i see something I've created, working. It just puts a huge grin on my face. Like I've just conquered the world... even the golden triangle gets me going. Now I'm starting to sound perverted so I'll stop there.
[ dev journal ]
[ current projects' videos ]