• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Finding the Correct PC Game Dev Route

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 DalisayDa   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 07 January 2012 - 12:23 PM

Hello!
I am an avid Computer Programmer, and have spent about 3 years now learning and attempting to be fully knowledgeable in different programming languages. I am strongest in Java, C, and C++. I am also very strong in Python and Perl. I am also a video game fanatic - especially in PC gaming. I was wondering if anyone could assist me by providing any preferred languages/tutorials/websites/books or any additional information that would help me get started with PC game development? I realize that my asking of these questions makes the process of learning game development seem somewhat linear and underestimated, but I am trying to find a good starting place. I have many game ideas and I have created small Java and C games on GUI applications. I have created many games on GUIs such as Bomberman, Tetris, Minesweeper, and my own demo of Fire Emblem(turn based rpg). Even though I have created working games on stand-alone applications and web applets, I REALLY want to create a strong in PC game development and find a correct route in order to do so.

I am fully open to any advice and suggestions at any time.
Please feel free to also email me at dalisay_david@hotmail.com .

Thank you,
Dave

Sponsor: