• Create Account

Programmer looking for work

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Drejn   Members   -  Reputation: 126

Posted 26 January 2012 - 01:10 PM

Introduction

Hi i'm a C/C++ programmer looking for a group to join in or create a new one (because why not!).

Experiences
I don't actually have any kind of experience in a team environment, but i made 2 2D games by myself:

The first one was a space invaders game with scrolling spacy background and enemies slowly descending towards the player.

The second one was a strategy game, in which i used TCP/IP to make it a multiplayer (at its current state it only works Players vs Player). The game
involves 2 players on a tiled board. Each player start with 1 Factory (able to produce units) and a certain amount of cash.

I used a weird turn based method:

each player plan his moves and after both players are ready, the results will be shown (that involves units moving while eventually attacking, or turrets shooting at other units to defend, etc etc).

Both games are more of experiments i did to improve my problem solving skils, so they are finished but most of all in a prototype state.

I can provide a proper working distributable version of both game on request.

Both games were developed with the Directx 9. For the sprites i used a custom made Sprite class that creates a quad of the size needed by the texture.

The sprites themself were made by myself.

For the networking i used the winsock library, with asynchronized sockets.

Skills
I'm specialized in programming as i said but have some knowledge with 3d/2d graphics(made some little works with blender and Gimp), networking (winsock library) and game design.

That let me have a more versatility and understanding of the other roles.