• Create Account

Whatever happen to the user ranking board?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 TheForgottenMindset   Members   -  Reputation: 124

Posted 31 January 2012 - 11:15 AM

I used to be a very active member about 6 years ago when we had a user ranking board, and I was so addicted to it. I used to love watching my user name rise the ranks by helping post useful content on threads and such. I actually got quite high up there, even though I was a novice at the time, at least people thought my feedback was useful, and I actually learned quite a bit in the process.

It seems like the boards were more active back then, or it could be my imagination. I remember around 9 or 10 eastern time the boards were hot and popin, but they seem a little stale now imho. I could be wrong.

Anyway this was a great incentive to keep people posting useful info, so where'd it go?

Sponsor:

#2 Michael Tanczos   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 5454

Posted 31 January 2012 - 11:26 AM

It's gonna be coming back along with a bunch of cool additions that give users more direct control over their rankings.. =) But yeah, six years ago the world was a bit different.. these days there are 80 zillion places where programmers can hang out and still stay connected. Along with improving our article library, this is my #1 priority right now.

#3 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 5277

Posted 31 January 2012 - 02:51 PM

Anyway this was a great incentive to keep people posting useful info, so where'd it go?

The incentive was a little too good in the opinon of many. The rankings were removed to keep people from posting pointless responses or threads just to get their ranking up to the next level.