I got a job offer, is it ok to finish school online?

Started by
10 comments, last by daviangel 12 years, 2 months ago
So, I got offered a good-paying job developing 3D training Simulations for the military. I still have a year of college left. They picked me up based on my experience. If I go with them, will it look bad if my degree is completed online?

Thanks,
Charlie
Advertisement
It probably won't matter, most employers will value professional experience far higher than a degree anyway, you could probably also go back and finish your degree at the same school in the future if the military job is for a shorter amount of time.
[size="1"]I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
Keep in mind two things:
1. Most places have some sort of limitation on how long college credits carry over. You usually can't carry over credits for more than several years. So if you end up working for multiple years and then try to finish, your credits might have "expired".
2. Sometimes a degree is necessary to get into the door. The less time you've been employed, the more important the lack of a degree is. I'm pulling this number out of my ass, but I'd say that about 3 years of work experience will be the point at which you no longer really have to worry that most companies won't give you a second look because you don't have a degree.

Under education on your resume, putting <degree>,<school> (incomplete) might be enough to get you through the door and into an interview, at which point it is up to you to impress them. I've had several interviews where the interviewer thought I had graduated, made a face when I clarified that I didn't, and then was impressed enough with the interview to offer me a job anyway.