• Create Account

The best GUI

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1 Muhammad Sabry   Members   -  Reputation: 106

0Likes

Posted 27 February 2012 - 07:35 AM

Hello everybody...

I'm a beginner C++, I've been already coding for console,but now I think it's the time to move to window application,
So my question is What is best GUI and why?
i've been searching on the web and I found (MFC, QT, wxWidgets), but I really don't know which one to choose.
So HELP ME PLEASE.Posted Image

Note:
I'm for sure wanna be a games programmer at the end.

Thanks

Sponsor:

#2 Telastyn   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3726

0Likes

Posted 27 February 2012 - 07:51 AM

If you're a beginner, the console.

#3 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6041

1Likes

Posted 27 February 2012 - 08:01 AM

best GUI for what ?

What platform(s) ?
Game or Desktop Application ?

Both QT and wxWidgets are good Desktop GUI APIs (QT is also good for Symbian/Meego mobile apps), i personally prefer QT but you're likely to find alot of people here who prefer wxWidgets aswell, look at some example code for them and pick the one that seems easiest to start with. (Switching API is fairly trivial anyway)

I'd recommend against MFC as it is:
1) Crap
2) Not included with the express edition of Visual Studio
3) Crap

If you are going to make games rather than GUI applications then something like SFML or SDL will be a better option.

You can also use plain old Win32 if you restrict yourself to the Windows platform, its good enough for simple stuff or you can go the .Net route and use WinForms (Which is pretty darn awesome but you probably want to swtich to C# then)
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!