• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Things every graphics programmer should know?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
20 replies to this topic

#1 ZBethel   Members   -  Reputation: 585

0Likes

Posted 29 February 2012 - 09:32 AM

Greetings,

I am an aspiring professional graphics programmer. Interestingly enough, despite being extremely close to finishing my undergraduate degree in Computer Science (with a concentration in graphics, mind you), most of the material I know has been self taught. Recently I bought Real-Time Rendering and Physically Based Rendering and my mind was blown on how much I still don't know. Even after nearly 10 years of hobby experience, I feel completely ignorant. I can definitely see why people need to get PhD's in the subject to actually get anywhere in the research realm.

As fascinated as I am in the subject, I feel like I have some serious gaps in my knowledge; things that I don't even realize I need to know. I guess I'd like to hear your opinion on what every graphics programmer should know. Here are some things that I can think of:

Linear Algebra - Unfortunately, I was never able to take linear algebra (long story--I transferred schools and planning classes has been a nightmare), but it's the most obvious math subject in graphics. You won't get far without a great understanding of vectors and matrices! I'm finding that the more heady parts of linear algebra are also a basic necessity as well, such as understanding eigenvalues (I still don't...). I just recently bought Gilbert Strang's book on Linear Algebra, so hopefully I will soon be a master of the subject. Posted Image