A* speed

Started by
22 comments, last by slicer4ever 12 years, 1 month ago

Hello GameDevs,

I recently did an implementation of the A* algorithm. I'm pretty satisfied with the result as this is my first real 'adventure' in the area of AI (I have been programming for about 7 years). The implementation delivers results pretty quick and accurate.

While implementing a question came to mind, how fast is fast?

Here are some images of the implementation in practice:

Agent moving a long distance

screenshot003edit-1.png

Agent moving through a maze

screenshot001edit-1.png

Two videos showing the implementation in practice:

Video 1

Video 2

To see how fast my implementation worked I did a stresstest. I made the program calculate thousands of paths from random startpoints to random endpoints in my grid. I did this in an empty grid of 40 by 23, an obstacle-filled grid of 40 by 23 and an empty grid of 100 by 100.

These are the results:

40 by 23, no obstacles

Xtrememode660ppsnoterrain40by23result.png

100 by 100, no obstacles

Xtrememode360ppseasyterrain100by100result-1.png

40 by 23, difficult terrain

Xtrememode120ppsdificultterrain40by23result-1.png

Note that I'm mainly concerned about the average calculation time, as you can see, at the 40 by 23 grid with a difficult terrain there is an average calculation time of about 8ms. Also note that I don't have diagonal search, only horizontal and vertical.

My question to the GameDev boards; Is this an acceptable speed, can it be categorized as fast, or slow?

Discuss...

Thanks in advance,

Yuri van Geffen

Advertisement
I think you can double the speed on mostly empty areas by spreading from both the start and end and finding the path when the 2 areas collide somewhere, but in a tight maze it might be slower...

o3o

I think you can double the speed on mostly empty areas by spreading from both the start and end and finding the path when the 2 areas collide somewhere, but in a tight maze it might be slower...