• Create Account

Shaders, buffers and layouts

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nanook   Members   -  Reputation: 473

0Likes

Posted 03 March 2012 - 02:39 PM

I'm new with shaders so this might be a wierd question, but does it make sense to make it possible to use the same shader with different buffers and even with differen buffer layouts?

Sponsor:

#2 MJP   Moderators   -  Reputation: 10535

0Likes

Posted 03 March 2012 - 05:08 PM

By "buffer" do you mean vertex buffer? If so then the answer is "yes" for most cases, but the specifics will depend on which API you're using.

#3 Nanook   Members   -  Reputation: 473

0Likes

Posted 03 March 2012 - 06:43 PM

Yes the vertex buffer.. I'm writing a cross API renderer so need to consider both..

#4 Nanook   Members   -  Reputation: 473

0Likes

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:18 PM

I'm reading on the dx docs.. shouldn't the buffer layout always match the shader input?

#5 Nanook   Members   -  Reputation: 473

0Likes

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:20 PM

Didn't it use to be a edit button here?

If I want to change the layout of a shader, would I need to keep the compiled ID3D10Blob around? Or is there another way than the CreateInputLayout function on device to change the layout?

#6 MJP   Moderators   -  Reputation: 10535

0Likes

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:28 PM