• Create Account

Objects getting nulled when activity leaves foreground.

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 Funkyjive   Members   -  Reputation: 125

0Likes

Posted 05 March 2012 - 11:55 PM

I am new to Android development so be patient with me. I have got touch, physics, and rendering figured out but have hit my first huge problem.

The game starts up and runs fine. If I hit the home button the program leaves the foreground (as expected). If I navigate to a list of my applications and try to start it again it crashes with a null pointer.

I have looked into and done some googling at it looks like when an activity leaves the foreground it does not actually die. It looks like it may or may not but that is dependent upon the resources available for new starting apps. Long story short I was able to track down the issue. It appears that a variable (one of my objects) is coming back null when the program returns to the foreground. In my reasearch I have also discovered that an activity can save off basic variable types and later read them back in. My question is how would I do this for a non-primitive object?

Here is some relevant code to explain how I have my game setup (perhaps i have just made a flaw in the basic design of the activity.
public class Android_Main extends Activity {

/* Main program entry point. Create the main game framework that will create the game object. */
    public void onCreate(Bundle saved_instance_state) {
	 /* Not sure what happens in the super class but do it anyways (all the tutorials I have seen do it). */
	 super.onCreate(saved_instance_state);

/* These will give full screen. */
	 this.requestWindowFeature(Window.FEATURE_NO_TITLE);