• Create Account

Bounding Box Calculations

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 gbMike   Members   -  Reputation: 152

0Likes

Posted 07 March 2012 - 09:09 AM

I feel like I might be missing something obvious, but I can't quite figure this out. I'm trying to calculate a bounding box, for a 3d object, after it has been rotated. I have all the vertex positions, but since I use glTranslatef, glScalef, & glRotatef and then draw, the points locations that I have are relative to the object at (0,0,0) with no rotation. Is there a way to calculate coordinates in world space, based on the current modelview matrix? Or is there a better way to do bounding box calculations?

Thanks in advance. Sorry if I'm missing something obvious. I'm pretty new to working in 3D, so go easy on me. :)

Sponsor:

#2 sjaakiejj   Members   -  Reputation: 130

0Likes

Posted 07 March 2012 - 10:40 AM

Why are you using OpenGL functions to transform a bounding box? The way I generally approach it is to give the box its own coordinates, and apply transformations to those manually using vectors, Matrices and quaternions. The OpenGL functions will only apply to a matrix in the OpenGL state, which even if you could access it would be bad practise to use for this kind of application.

#3 dpadam450   Members   -  Reputation: 862

0Likes

Posted 07 March 2012 - 10:56 AM

Why are you using OpenGL functions to transform a bounding box?

He's not.

Right after setting up your transforms, you can call glGetDoublev(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, double[16] array). With that matrix you will have to manually loop through your Box vertices and do matrix multiplication.

#4 haegarr   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3971

0Likes

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:15 AM