• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Where to start

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 Brandonnn   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:13 PM

Hey guys,

This is my first post here, although I have been reading through a lot of other threads. I am a long time web developer (PHP, CSS, XHTML, JavaScript...etc) so coding is not a new concept to me. I've had 1 Java programming class, although that's been a few years back.

I've bought, and have gotten through about half of Beginning C++ Through Game Programming by Michael Dawson, but all of this is only command line programs.

I understand that in order to use a language you have to know the syntax and blah blah blah... but I've noticed that C++ is ridiculously similar to PHP, so the syntax isn't hard to catch on to. I guess my question is... how do you bridge the gap between text based command line to GUI.

Should I jump right into learning DirectX or should there be a middle step in there somewhere? I intend on starting small and working my way up... (ie starting with something somewhat simpler like tetris)

Sponsor:

#2 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6167

0Likes

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:50 PM

You could take a look at SFML.
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#3 Memories are Better   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 769