• Create Account

D3D11 - Are Effect Files Discouraged?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 Hornsj3   Members   -  Reputation: 191

0Likes

Posted 18 March 2012 - 05:46 PM

I am fairly new to DirectX and am going straight to DX11.

I know D3D10 included an effects framework (and D3D11 supplies the source you can build).

My question is, does Microsoft consider the effects framework to be the non-optimal solution? Is the alternative to this the binding and unbinding shaders and resources explicitly through the framework ?

I want to learn the proper way to do this, not the old (if it is, in fact considered out dated) way.

Right now I'm going to be running a compute shader per mip level to construct a data structure using the mip-maps of a texture. This means I need to have one compute shader for each mip level. Each shader must run after the previous mip level has been computed (the next coursest level depends on the previous, finer one). It seems the effects framework would be useful for this, but it could be done by looping through and explicitly setting shaders and dispatching.

Thanks.

Sponsor:

#2 MJP   Moderators   -  Reputation: 11844

2Likes

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:49 PM