Quick 2D Collision Detection Problem

Started by
-1 comments, last by RAMailley 12 years, 1 month ago
Hi, guys. I have a fair bit of programming experience, but I'm new to both C# and XNA. I'm trying to make a 2D platform game, but I'm having trouble getting my collision detection to work properly. I'll show you the code then explain the issue:

Player's Movement Code

public void UpdateMovement(KeyboardState k, List<Sprite> sList)
{
// gravity
if (state == State.Falling)
{
velocity.Y += gravity;
if (velocity.Y > yVelocityMax)
velocity.Y = yVelocityMax;
}
// movement
if (k.IsKeyDown(Keys.Space) && !kprev.IsKeyDown(Keys.Space) && !(state == State.Falling))
{
velocity.Y += -jumpStrength;
}
if (k.IsKeyDown(Keys.D))
{
velocity.X += speed;
}
if (k.IsKeyDown(Keys.A))
{
velocity.X -= speed;
}
position += velocity;
// collision detection
bool falling = true;
foreach (Sprite s in sList)
{
if (s != this && s.Collides(get_boundingBox()))
{
if (position.Y + box.Height >= s.get_boundingBox().Top && position.Y <= s.get_boundingBox().Bottom)
{
velocity.Y = 0;
position.Y = s.get_boundingBox().Top - box.Height;
state = State.Standing;
falling = false;
}
}
}
if (falling)
{
state = State.Falling;
}
velocity.X = 0; // prevent sliding
kprev = k;
}

Collides Function

public bool Collides(Rectangle r)
{
return r.Intersects(get_boundingBox());
}

Bounding Box Code

public Rectangle get_boundingBox()
{
return new Rectangle((int)position.X, (int)position.Y, box.Width, box.Height);
}

So, the way the collision detection works is that it updates the player's position with all the effects of gravity, keyboard movement, and such, and then runs through a list of all the other Sprites looking for collisions. If it finds a collision, it readjusts the player's position so that the player, and tells the player it isn't falling anymore.