• Create Account

Why the efficiency a simple 2D program is so low?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Cocular   Members   -  Reputation: 101

0Likes

Posted 21 March 2012 - 09:25 AM

I'm a totally new beginner to OpenGL and I'm learning it by online resource http://www.arcsynthesis.org/gltut/.

It is a 2D example that is a simply 2D spinning triangle around one point. A attach its main code below.

My problem is why a simple program run so slow. It does not run very smooth and I can a few obvious lags. This is much more frequent when I open v-sync (CPU 100% on a laptop is annoying). I also try to sleep sometime before call another glutPostRedisplay. This seems even lagger than v-sync.

My question is how to make this program run more smooth? I can never feel such lag when I play some games written in OpenGL. Also is there a convenient way to limit the FPS?

#define ARRAY_COUNT( array ) (sizeof( array ) / (sizeof( array[0] ) * (sizeof( array ) != sizeof(void*) || sizeof( array[0] ) <= sizeof(void*))))

GLuint theProgram;

void InitializeProgram()
{
    std::vector<GLuint> shaderList;

shaderList.push_back(Framework::LoadShader(GL_VERTEX_SHADER, "standard.vert"));
    shaderList.push_back(Framework::LoadShader(GL_FRAGMENT_SHADER, "standard.frag"));

theProgram = Framework::CreateProgram(shaderList);
}

const float vertexPositions[] = {
    0.25f, 0.25f, 0.0f, 1.0f,
    0.25f, -0.25f, 0.0f, 1.0f,
    -0.25f, -0.25f, 0.0f, 1.0f,
};

GLuint positionBufferObject;
GLuint vao;

void InitializeVertexBuffer()
{
    glGenBuffers(1, &positionBufferObject);

glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, positionBufferObject);
    glBufferData(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, sizeof(vertexPositions), vertexPositions, GL_STREAM_DRAW);
    glBindBuffer(GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, 0);
}