• Create Account

Realistic movement in Diablo like game

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 mordimer   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 30 March 2012 - 03:51 AM

Hello Everybody,

I'm a hobbyist programmer creating an engine to diablo like game. I would like to create an AI for my monsters which would make them move in a realistic (or at least semi realistic) way.

It's quite easy to detect player, find the shortest way towards him and make monsters to charge at that direction. In my experience moving everything linearly it's not the best AI behaviour in terms of reality. Are there any well known algorithms / approaches to make the movement more realistic (or even synchronised to make the monsters work together)?

Thank you!

Sponsor:

#2 Ashaman73   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7504

0Likes

Posted 30 March 2012 - 05:25 AM

You should take a look at Steering behaviour, which is a common approach to handle movement of one or more characters in a game: clicky

#3 IADaveMark   Moderators   -  Reputation: 2474

1Likes

Posted 30 March 2012 - 08:36 AM

Note that "moving" and "acting" are not the same things. Especially in the context of "acting together".
Dave Mark - President and Lead Designer of Intrinsic Algorithm LLC

Professional consultant on game AI, mathematical modeling, simulation modeling
Co-advisor of the GDC AI Summit
Co-founder of the AI Game Programmers Guild
Author of the book, Behavioral Mathematics for Game AI

Blogs I write:
IA News - What's happening at IA | IA on AI - AI news and notes | Post-Play'em - Observations on AI of games I play

"Reducing the world to mathematical equations!"

#4 Malabyte   Members   -  Reputation: 589

0Likes

Posted 31 March 2012 - 03:03 PM