• Create Account

Mitigating the Effects of a Learning Curve

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 coder0xff   Members   -  Reputation: 225

0Likes

Posted 09 April 2012 - 07:38 PM

I'm a professional developer, but I find myself in a position where I'm using technologies, APIs, and languages that I have little experience with. Though I'm excited about the project, I'm honestly kind of dreading it. My project is a substantial one, and I'd like to do it right the first time. Are there any tips or tricks to help avoid making poor architectural and coding decisions, so I can avoid having to go back and redo things once I figure out the "proper way"? I have no problem with reading documentation and reference material, but it only gets you so far.
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and Im not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein

Sponsor:

#2 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 14623

1Likes

Posted 09 April 2012 - 08:10 PM

There is no substitute for experience.

If all else fails, prototype, prototype, prototype. Throw away anything you can improve on, and do it right the second/third/fifth time.

#3 Álvaro   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 12383

0Likes

Posted 09 April 2012 - 08:12 PM

Unfortunately, most of what guides good architectural decisions is experience. To the extent that you have suffered the horrors of bad architectures in the past, you know what kinds of things to avoid.

I don't claim to have enough experience to be confident I can avoid the types of messes you fear, but If I can try to transfer anything that I have learned over the years, keep things simple.

#4 Telastyn   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3726

0Likes

Posted 09 April 2012 - 08:26 PM