• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Help for a total begginer in programming

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 dixego1   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 16 April 2012 - 08:28 PM

Ok, so here's my situation:

I want to learn how to program games. I have no experience with programming whatsoever. I started reading a book (Beginning C++ through game programming) for a few weeks but I just didn't grasp any concept or learn any part of the structure or the things I was using.

After reading the boards here for a bit I read some recommendations about not starting with C++ and learning something easier instead.

Will learning another language make it easier for me to understand C++ later? Will I get the whole idea if I try with a different language?What should I do as a start?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsor:

#2 Junior951   Members   -  Reputation: 124

1Likes

Posted 17 April 2012 - 12:55 AM

Learning an "easier" language before going after C++ may be the way to go for you, however being someone who tackled C++ first I think it's more the book you are reading than the language. The consepts of C++ can be a bit tricky for a beginner, and while I've yet to read the book you mentioned, I'm going to guess that it moves pretty quickly.

One more thing to remember... Programming is both an Art and a Science, you are setting yourself up for failure if you think a few weeks of reading will unluck the secrets to programming. It takes lots of hours to get things down, and lots and lots of practice.

-Good Luck

#3 doeme   Members   -  Reputation: 718

0Likes

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:28 AM