To take job or not to take job that is the question

Started by
8 comments, last by Tom Sloper 11 years, 12 months ago
Hey guys, I am a software engineer graduating this year (knock on wood, two more exams) and plan on entering the software field.

Graphics, game development, game design, game engines are software projects i enjoy a lot (I won't use passionate here but close), and whenever i have free time i always try to learn and develop my skills in my own time since my curriculum didn't really allow me to take a lot of closely related courses.

However as I began my job hunt, I got two offers from companies I had interviewed for (both having nothing to do with graphics and game dev). Both companies are offering nice benefits with an impressive salary. I can't name them because i feel that is extremely unprofessional. I always wanted to start my career somewhere in graphics however my first game related interview I didn't do too well. I don't think they were too impressed with my portfolio (I didn't have as much time as i would have liked to work on it). I understand that my portfolio is not impressive right now and there are so many things I want to do, and have started doing to try to improve my portfolio such as the completion of a small game engine in directX, as well as working with some friends on a small 3D game we decided to develop.

The problem now is, one of my friends is able to get me an interview for a new graduate developer position with a pretty prominent game development company. Also a graphics related company has also agreed to interview me. The dilemma is, the interviews are both after 8 days, and I must decide whether or not to take these 2 jobs that have been offered within this week (around 4 more days).