• Create Account

C# SQL connector very slow

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
18 replies to this topic

#1 yewbie   Members   -  Reputation: 665

0Likes

Posted 22 May 2012 - 11:41 AM

First off let me preface this by saying that I am very new to using C# to do anything with SQL so I may not know some of the basics =)

I am currently using MySql.Data.MySqlClient and have written a custom C# application to parse records from a CSV file and update some records in my table and insert some records as needed pretty simple stuff.

Now the underlying code to do this works great. My problem is that is it is very very slow, everytime I do a SELECT or UPDATE, it can take upwards to a second to complete.

For each record I am doing a select to find the reference ID for the line in the table.
I then use that reference number to update a couple of fields based on the data I parsed.

I am dealing with a table that has over 200000 records and yes I need to go through every single one because the data I am updating can go all the way back to the beginning so I can't LIMIT my select.

Since I am new to SQL in general is it better to batch updates? IE say I have 700 updates just mash as many as I can into a single SQL statement and push that?

I don't really understand the connection pooling since right now I am doing a select to find my reference number before I update, but really I am just looking for any advice =)

Thanks in advance!

Sponsor:

#2 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 16414

2Likes

Posted 22 May 2012 - 11:44 AM

Sounds like the problem is your query itself, not C# or something inherent to SQL. Is your table appropriately indexed?

#3 yewbie   Members   -  Reputation: 665

0Likes

Posted 22 May 2012 - 12:37 PM