Getting Started with the game development

Started by
2 comments, last by szecs 11 years, 10 months ago
I am a java developer with coding skills in java,javascript and c++ too...I am having this aspiration to try game development...

But i got struck with the initial step itself....where to start?

My question is...

what is a game engine? Whether OpenGl (other stuffs like this) is a game engines or OpenGl is different from game engine?if yes what is it?

What is the step by step ( just the flow of learning steps/process of development not the minor details) process if my goal is to create a small game (tic tac toe)...in

my pc/android mobile?...

I know this is a vague question?... but please point me in the right direction....
Advertisement
This recent thread will help you understand the differentiation between game engines, and game frameworks smile.png .... http://www.gamedev.net/topic/625474-game-engine/
So i got this inference from that post...

Game engine...
mostly like a software(like photoshop for image editing)for creating a game...eg..(UNITY,JMONKEY..etc)...easy to create a game using this....

Game Framework...
just the graphics API (nuts and bolts) that you should assemble yourself if you want to develop a game with game framework....(eg..OPENGL like stuffs)

Correct me if am wrong....

if am right what should i prefer a game engine or a game framework?....

also I need answer for this ...

What is the step by step ( just the flow of learning steps/process of development not the minor details) process if my goal is to create a small game (tic tac toe)...in

my pc/android mobile?...
Well, you could also google these to clear the terms up.

Comparing engines with frameworks is meaningless, as they are different things. It's hard to explain, that's why I suggested google, because I'm sure there are well formatted articles about the topic.