• Create Account

I need help with a side scroller beat em all

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 tashaklikedi   Members   -  Reputation: 218

0Likes

Posted 04 June 2012 - 06:47 PM

Hi, I'm a newbie programmer who tries to make his own streets of rage / final fight like side scroller game.

As you know it, that kind of game has a pseudo 3D setting, with X and Y movement. So other than the X and Y variables that I use to move, I created a ground position hitbox (a rectangle), and an air position hitbox.

When you press the jump button, there is an initial velocity, a negative acceleration which is added to the jump velocity at each frame, and a condition that tells to land if the Y coordinate of the air position is lower than the Y coordinate of the ground position.

I hope I have been clear up to now...

Up to now, what I did successfully is running, jumping and walking in a limited area.

what I want to do next is to make my character jump between platforms like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=tXtNmRmiYC8#t=55s

I tried many things, but every time when I did one aspect of the issue successfully, it turned out that I messed up another aspect.

do you have any idea how this can be solved? after this I think everything will be easier (putting aside the AI)

Edited by tashaklikedi, 04 June 2012 - 06:48 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 16419

0Likes

Posted 04 June 2012 - 06:52 PM

Can you describe the kind of problem you actually ran into? There are many ways that this can go wrong, but without knowing which issues you were specifically having, it's hard to know how to advise you :-)

#3 tashaklikedi   Members   -  Reputation: 218

0Likes

Posted 04 June 2012 - 07:29 PM

Sure!