• Create Account

I need advice on a progression system

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 yannbane   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:49 AM

Hello fellow game developers.

I am in the process of designing a multiplayer, top-down (2D), match-making mecha game. The technology that will be used is HTML5 canvas on the client side, node.js on the server side and socket.io for communication over TCP (although I will probably switch to UDP, as it is more common for multiplayer games).

I am not a designer, but a programmer, and this will be a relatively small game made just by me (although I might get other people to draw some sprites for me later).

I'm still designing the game (trying to, at least), and I'm stuck on a progression system. By "progression system", I mean things like levels, experience, achievements, ranks, and that sort of thing. I've already decided that I will implement achievements in the game, but I'm not sure about the rest.

Here are several models:

A.
  • Money is awarded for kills
  • XP is awarded at the end of the match
  • People buy upgrades and new weapons with money, and each level they get a "skill point" which they can spend on a small boost (+10% speed, for example)
B. The same as A, but XP is awarded for kills, and money is awarded at the end.
C. No money or XP, kills give you honor, and the only means of progression are ranks. All weapons are free at the start of the match.
D. Only money, no skill points. You have to buy weapons and upgrades.
E. Only XP, everyone is free to chose the weapons (as in C), they upgrade through skill points.