How to start off in gaming

Started by
7 comments, last by antiHUMANDesigns 11 years, 10 months ago
Hi i am new to this world and do not no were to begin unsure.png
About my self:

I have completed year 11 and gave up on year 12 at TAFE.
i do have some experience using unity3D to make landscapes but I have not a clue how to use Java or any programs like that.
I'm slowly learning by my self and will be getting proper training in a digital media course cert 3 at TAFE.
I play piano and have a good ear with music.
i'm very creative and love to write storys.
So my questions are:

How should i start my training?

How can you improve you profile so people will start noticing you in the gaming community?

Are there any other things I should know ?
Advertisement
Why not go into the audio side of game development?
There was a reply on a similar question which said: " Just pick a platform/framework that you like and improve"
Just start with small projects that you can finish(and finish them) then move on to larger more complex projects as you gain more knowledge.

As your experiance grows, pass that knowledge to other people. Maybe write an article how you solved a particular problem.
Thanks for the Help and suggestions
I think you should do the audio. There's not many people who do that and they're always wanted.

But if you still want to start programming then, choose your programming language. Read some articles
or find some tutorials. The basics, just the basics. Then you can go deeper and introduce yourself into
game programming.

1. I have completed year 11 and gave up on year 12 at TAFE.
2. How can you improve you profile so people will start noticing you in the gaming community?
3. Are there any other things I should know ?

1. That's not good. Something else you said, though, seems to indicate that you are working to repair that.