• Create Account

Game Maker, Unity, or Blender?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
22 replies to this topic

#1 Friendless Dev   Members   -  Reputation: 106

0Likes

Posted 17 June 2012 - 09:09 PM

Hey guys, I'm new to game development, and I barely know any code currently (I'm 14 as well). I've just started playing around with Game Maker, I tried Blender but I couldn't use it well, and Unity seems a bit more advanced. I have one project that I wish to start once I'm familiar with game development, but for now what is the best engine to start off with?

Sponsor:

#2 greenzone   Members   -  Reputation: 672

0Likes

Posted 18 June 2012 - 12:17 AM

An idea of what kind of game your trying to make might help answer your question a little better. Also your level of ambition towards game making might also be useful in determining how to respond in an educated way to your question.
J-GREEN

Greenpanoply

#3 Mr Rage   Members   -  Reputation: 116

0Likes

Posted 18 June 2012 - 12:26 AM

I've used all 3.

Game Maker is mainly used for 2D games. Its easy to use.

Blender is more of a FREE 3D modelling and animation suite. You can build many things in Blender like a human body also rigging it and texturing it will successfully bring the human body to life. I don't know much about Blender's game engine but people don't really use it.

Unity is a free engine that requires you to learn a language such as Javascript, C++(pro version), C# etc.

What do you want to be in game development?

Game programmer, designer, artist and animator etc.

Lastly what type of game would you like to make in the future?

The floor is yours.

#4 abcdef44   Banned   -  Reputation: 2

-2Likes

Posted 18 June 2012 - 01:16 AM

I don't know much about Blender's game engine but people don't really use it.