• Create Account

New to programming (duh) had some questions...

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 RussDawgUnlimited   Members   -  Reputation: 121

0Likes

Posted 19 June 2012 - 08:58 PM

So I wanna start learning how to program, mostly to become a game programmer (duh) but I know i cant just jump right into game programming, I gotta learn how to program in general first. I'm really new to programming, the most I've ever really programmed was one of those games where you click and hold to make an object go up and release to go down, but that one game was made about 3 years ago and in flash, and Ive never really had time to get back into it.....

But now I do have time and I'm going to make time for it too, as I'm really passionate about my games and really wanna get into the industry, and Ive always found programming interesting so I figure I better start now rather than later, but enough rambling, back to my questions: I've been reading a few "so you wanna start programming" articles just to get my feet we to see what Im getting into and I think i have the idea, i just had a few questions regarding starting up, so bear with me as I haven't programmed in a long time and I need to get back into it XD,

Ive been wanting to start up using C++ but the more i read up on it i see that its not a good language to start up with due to its high difficulty for newcomers, as well as it also being outdated and inconvenient (I've read that it takes a lot of code before you can actually get a working product), so what languages would be a good starting point for someone who hasn't done any hardcore programming for years?