Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Billboarding trees are not visible


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
33 replies to this topic

#21 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 17 July 2012 - 01:21 PM

Nevermind. I see what you mean.

Sponsor:

#22 eppo   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2342

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 17 July 2012 - 01:21 PM

I mean simply transforming (multiplying by your world-view-projection matrix) the trees without reorienting them to face the camera.

#23 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 17 July 2012 - 01:29 PM

Ok I tried what you said, and now all I am getting is a black square situated about the center of the xz plane.

#24 eppo   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2342

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 17 July 2012 - 02:10 PM

Does the debug runtime give you anything useful?

You can enable it in the DirectX properties panel (dxcpl.exe)

#25 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 17 July 2012 - 02:45 PM

I still can't figure out how to enable it. What should I look for once I do though?

#26 ankhd   Members   -  Reputation: 1197

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 17 July 2012 - 09:58 PM

try setting this
HR(mFX->SetMatrix(mhWVP, &(mTreeWorld*mView*mProj)));

to
HR(mFX->SetMatrix(mhWVP, &(mView*mProj)));//not using tree world its in the vertex data

#27 eppo   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2342

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 01:42 AM

Since you've set the world matrix to the indentity matrix, it seems right the quad shows at the origin of the plane.

The fact that it's all black could indicate there's something wrong with the texture you have set. That's something the debug runtime could give you more insight on.

If you instead of sampling the texture, output some random color, does that get rendered correctly?

float4 AABillBoardPS(float2 tex0 : TEXCOORD0) : COLOR
{
return(float4(1.f, 0.f, 0.f, 1.f));
}

Edited by eppo, 18 July 2012 - 01:46 AM.


#28 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 09:58 AM

Now I am getting a red square. I still don't know how to enable or use debug runtime though.

#29 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 11:45 AM

Ok, I have tried re-enabled billboarding and now I can't see anything. Not even a red square. Something is still wrong. Again, I still don't know how to enable or use debug runtime.

#30 eppo   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2342

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 11:50 AM

It's in windrive:/Program Files/Microsoft DirectX SDK/Utilities/bin/dxcpl.exe -> Direct3D 9 tab -> 'Use Debug Version of Direct3D 9'.

Debug messages are printed in VS' output window.

#31 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 12:14 PM

I still don't know where to look. Where is VS' output window?

#32 eppo   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2342

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 02:45 PM

In Visual Studio: View > Output

#33 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2012 - 05:34 PM

There is no Output under View.

#34 Hseptic   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 25 July 2012 - 06:55 PM

Can anyone else please help shed some light on this for me?




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS