Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Amazon EC2 UDP connect failed


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 polyfrag   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1841

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 July 2012 - 07:07 PM

I have an Amazon EC2 (Amazon Linux) server with port 9930 open
I have a simple test program:

http://pathogen.myftp.org/test.cpp

When I run it and try to telnet port 9930 it says

Could not open connection to host, on port 9930: Connect failed

Why?


Sponsor:

#2 radioteeth   Prime Members   -  Reputation: 1044

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:52 PM

There has been a lot of power outages, and I know that amazon's cloud services have been severely affected.. http://hardware.slashdot.org/story/12/06/30/162250/more-uptime-problems-for-amazon-cloud

#3 ApochPiQ   Moderators   -  Reputation: 15692

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:28 PM

You have opened a socket using UDP. Telnet is a TCP-based utility. Basically, you're calling a phone number in China and asking why they aren't speaking French ;-)

#4 hplus0603   Moderators   -  Reputation: 5280

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 10:44 AM

To test sockets in general, and UDP sockets specifically, use the "netcat" program.

enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };

#5 FlyingDutchman   Members   -  Reputation: 207

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 02:09 PM

please test if you have UDP ports opened in your 'security group'

I open sourced my C++/iOS OpenGL 2D RPG engine :-)


See my blog: (Tutorials and GameDev)

http://howtomakeitin....wordpress.com/


#6 polyfrag   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1841

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 05:29 PM

please test if you have UDP ports opened in your 'security group'

Yep, UDP port open.


To test sockets in general, and UDP sockets specifically, use the "netcat" program.


This works:

nc -u

ec2-50-19-202-144.compute-1.amazonaws.com

9930

But my game still doesn't... mmm.

Edited by polyfrag, 02 July 2012 - 05:30 PM.


#7 polyfrag   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1841

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 06:38 PM

Even this sample program doesn't work

http://www.tenouk.com/Winsock/Winsock2example9.html

test.exe -p UDP -n ec2-50-19-202-144.compute-1.amazonaws.com -e 9930

Edited by polyfrag, 02 July 2012 - 06:38 PM.


#8 polyfrag   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1841

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 06:49 PM

Even netcat for windows doesn't work when I do the same command:

nc.exe -u ec2-50-19-202-144.compute-1.amazonaws.com 9930

http://joncraton.org...cat-for-windows

Edited by polyfrag, 02 July 2012 - 06:49 PM.


#9 hplus0603   Moderators   -  Reputation: 5280

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:18 PM

What does wireshark say on the machine you run "nc.exe" on?
Are you sure the Amazon provisioning is set up to allow UDP in on the public IP? If it works with netcat on the server, but not with netcat on your client, then that's the most likely problem.
Could also be local firewalls on the client, on your router, or on the server itself.
enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };

#10 polyfrag   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1841

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:48 PM

OOOooh, I forgot to click Apply Rule for the UDP ports. Works now. Thank you.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS