• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

A simple 3D game library compatible with Linux?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
18 replies to this topic

#1 argoneus   Members   -  Reputation: 115

0Likes

Posted 05 July 2012 - 02:52 PM

So far I have my eyes on jMonkeyEngine because it seems both easy and powerful (and works on Lee-Nukes), but, is there anything else? I'm trying to avoid C++ for now as I am a beginner >.>

Also, the game isn't first person, it's more a top-down strategy view only, so if that changes anything..

Edited by argoneus, 05 July 2012 - 02:53 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 Narf the Mouse   Members   -  Reputation: 318

0Likes

Posted 05 July 2012 - 03:01 PM

Being a beginner is no reason to avoid C++. If C++ really grabs you as a language, learn it.

Learn the language you like first, not the one(s) people recommend to you. Once you've learnt one programming language, additional languages are about a month for competence, three for proficiency.

So, just learn the one you like the most first.

#3 argoneus   Members   -  Reputation: 115

0Likes

Posted 05 July 2012 - 03:17 PM

Alright, let me rephrase it.

I don't want to deal with pointers just yet. And even if I did, I still don't know what library to go for.

Edited by argoneus, 05 July 2012 - 03:18 PM.

#4 Fredericvo   Members   -  Reputation: 419

0Likes

Posted 05 July 2012 - 07:11 PM

Alright, let me rephrase it.